Show reviews that mention
credit card account card money credit service totalav charge refund subscription
Filter review
Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Update by user Feb 20, 2020

My credit card company contacted the TotalAV rep and got a commitment to credit my credit card.

Original review posted by user Feb 20, 2020
I saw the ads for TotalAV on AOL and decided to try this product for a free trial. To begin, the download and install process is a nightmare, and when I tried to open and...
View full review
6 comments
#1965542

Do not download total Av they won't take NO for an answer and a nightmare to try and get money back or refund.

View more comments
Resolved
ID
#1798978 Review #1798978 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Total Av Subscription
Cons
  • Various

Subscription payment rip off

TotalAV just tried to take £144 payment from my bank account. I cancelled my subscription with them 2 years ago. I originally paid around £19 for the first subscription, they then took £92 the following year and now attempted to take £144. Fortunately my bank queried this and blocked the payment, and all future attempts from TotalAV. I called TotalAV and was assured that the subscription charges would be cancelled - but I'm glad my bank was on the ball. Devious and dubious practices.

User's recommendation: Don't go there!

View full review
ID
#2392028 Review #2392028 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

I did not know about the sneaky automatic renewal fee charged without my (Customer) cinsent.

I was charged $99 renewal fee without knowing or wanting it for $99I cannot get them to take it off. I have sent several E-mails, They tell me it is not the correct E-mail from papal. I only have the one. I am considering a small claims issue. Stay away from this company. They are taking advantage of customers.

User's recommendation: Stay away from this product and company. should be reported to better business bureau.

View full review
ID
#2389684 Review #2389684 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$99
Preferred solution
Full refund

Fraudulent credit card charge

I never heard of this company, but they somehow got my credit card number and charged me $119. I do not have Total AV and I have never used any of their products. It turns out that a Google Search reveals that many people have been in my same situation.
View full review
ID
#2389244 Review #2389244 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba

True account of subscibtion

When I bought my laptop I was drawn to the security aspect of my computer and there was initially free for a short period and took it on but was surprised to be charged and debited, how they were able to get my details I do not know ,so I immediately cancelled it later on £59-00 taken from my account, then after a conversation with a man from AV I was told I would receive a refund in a few days time but two weeks later no sign of the money, so that qualifies it as a con????!!

User's recommendation: Check before you share to any offers for a free period of any security.

View full review
ID
#2369604 Review #2369604 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Harrogate, England

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Inform potential buyers

Total Av - Inform potential buyers
Total Av - Inform potential buyers
Update by user Jan 04

Refund provided upon request but frequent discount email offers

Original review posted by user Jan 04
As stated by many reviewers here I can say I had many of the same issues. What started out being a $6 purchase grew into over $150. The download and install process is like buying a coffee. Offers to upgrade to this version or to add on some extra feature from start to finish. I had no problem requesting and receiving a full refund. However, I receive dozens of "final" email offers to buy the entire bundle for $19. So, if you want a price that makes more sense, make the full upgrade buys then after a day or two of working with it, cancel and request a refund. Give it a week or two and special discounted price offers will starting coming in.
View full review
ID
#2364990 Review #2364990 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Total Av Subscription
Preferred solution
Already received refund

Your trust is our top priority

  • 100% user-generated content
  • Professional automated and live moderation
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Equal Opportunity and Protection
  • Verified content

For more information about PissedConsumer check out our Blog article

Unauthorized charges

Several moths ago I was getting charged for this which I couldnt find where I ordered this antivirus and couldnt get a hold of them. Last week another charge showed up on my account which is fraud. Now I have to change bank card again as I did in October. How are they doing this????

User's recommendation: Make sure you check your accounts after buying anything online.

View full review
ID
#2354019 Review #2354019 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$9
Preferred solution
Full refund

I didn't order

Got billed $156.00 for something I didn't order!Scam

User's recommendation: Scam.

View full review
ID
#2353045 Review #2353045 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

TOTAL AV DOESN'T GIVE A D**N

Over the 8 months since I renewed this Antivirus I have had a blue box (RENEW/UNINSTALL) popup at least 4 times per day and TI reached out by phone and email (totaling 20+ times) asking for help with this as it was very annoying! You can't get rid of the blue box until you click on renew/uninstall! They requested screenshots and other tasks that I complied with. I scheduled 3 separate remote sessions and they told me that my account was up to date but couldn't find anything? A couple of weeks ago they said they were escalating this issue to their senior tech team and they would be contacting me! Well, they never did, they sent me another email requesting a 4th remote session! No chance, it'll be taking up my time again for zero results! By this time, I don't want anything to do with Total AV and plan to delete their antivirus! They didn't care about my issue! I asked them if I could delete the app and reinstall it but for them to send me a link so that I didn't have to pay for it again! They ignored this suggestion. I have all the emails saved so I can prove everything, including phone calls they recorded (the last one was made on Sunday December 6, 2020!

User's recommendation: Don't buy this.

View full review
ID
#2326622 Review #2326622 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Total Av Antivirus
Cons
  • Customer service sucks they do nothing to help
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Resolved: They hacked me!

Update by user Dec 10, 2020

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with full refund. Issue was resoled with total bank refund, no questions asked..

Original review posted by user Dec 05, 2020
I was viewing this product on line and was testing it to search my own name. When the search was complete Was when I was first directed to give my credit card info. At this point I decided not to purchase so I x'ed out of the link. an hour or so later I noticed a new charge of $99 on my bank statement. Although did not give them my credit card info or sign up for their service they somehow were able to charge my account. Their web page is titled "truthfinders" and the bank statement charge is shows it from TOTALAV.COM . WHAT A RIPOFF!

User's recommendation: Stay away!!!

View full review
Resolved
ID
#2322185 Review #2322185 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Unknown
Loss
$99
Preferred solution
Full refund

Latest Question

How can I get my refund

I tried to download total av and was charged £3 plus and thought that was the only payment as it’s advertised as free but have been charged £9.59 a further twice I haven’t even received it and don’t want it so I will be...

Total Av Questions

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Constant e mail's harrasing me never installed that product ?

Answered their AD for free trial then found they charged my card for it a monthly charge of $2.99 forever ? Had to give my card # to get the free trial ? Cancelled it right away but they would not cancel it only thing I could do was cancel my credit card that I had for years ? Then the e mail's started to harass me weekly I never did install their product? Also cancelled online this many times but they keep telling me to install the program, This is a SCAM

User's recommendation: Don't reply to them ?can't get rid of them if you do ???

View full review
ID
#2310057 Review #2310057 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Total Av Subscription
Cons
  • Its a scam
Loss
$3
Preferred solution
Apology

Refund refused

I got my bill from my Bank on it was the amount of £58.80, which I did not recognise it was from TotalAV. I contacted them for a refund, having not authorised the payment. I had been a user previously, I was not satisfied as I had not seen or heard from them during the previous year, I was not even sure I was getting any service from them. My request for a refund was refused on the grounds that 30 days had elapsed, which I felt was mad as I had only just received my Bank statement and of course was unaware they were taking money from my account????????????????????????????

User's recommendation: Beware of TotalAV.

View full review
ID
#2292638 Review #2292638 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Paris, Ile-De-France
Cons
  • Tet
Preferred solution
Full refund

Money taken not authorized by me

took money for an item i had not ordered

User's recommendation: keep well away.

View full review
ID
#2284352 Review #2284352 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Coventry, England

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Total AV bogus charges

TotalAV charged my credit card 3 months ago for $99. I do not have TotalAV, I got my credit card company to remove the charges, and they issued a new card to me. Two months ago the same thing happened. Again my credit card company removed the charges and issued a new card for me. This month I used the new card to make a payment to TMobile using my phone. The 2 previous months I used my computer. The only time I have used this card was to pay the TMobile bill. TotalAV charged my CC again. They are getting my information from TMobile, so I am going to change to another phone service provide.

User's recommendation: Don't use TotalAV or TMobile.

View full review
1 comment
#1951212

I am having the same issues with Total AV and now are reporting the company to Action Fraud. My advice: Don't touch them, they're a nightmare to get away from.

ID
#2276722 Review #2276722 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Cheating company
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

I cancelled my account in Oct 2019. Then in Sept of 2020, I'm charged $99.00 for a year of coverage.

I NEVER ORDERED OR OK'D This transaction. I am now working with PayPal to get my money refunded. This is a violation of retaining my credit card info and using it at a later time. I do not do AUTO Renews for this reason. Not happy at all.

User's recommendation: AVAST virus protection is the only one who I trust now!

View full review
ID
#2269027 Review #2269027 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Redding, California
Loss
$99
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Verified Buyer

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Total Av - I cancelled
I found TOTAL.AV lacking, so I cancelled my subscriptions. I keep getting messages that my payments had stopped. I tried to reiterate that I had cancelled when contract was up for renewal but still getting same monthly messages,I am concerned if I'm being scammed by...
View full review
2 comments
#1948884

I am still receiving emails informing me they have not been able to access my monthly subscription, as I cancelled direct debit. I am concerned this may go against credit score.

Also informs me of the risk of not having cover, I have informed them from start I am using another supplier. Just want to stop sending me emails.

View more comments
ID
#2263766 Review #2263766 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Total Av Customer Care
Pros
  • Great for their virus protection
Cons
  • Being charged for a service after i requested cancellation
Preferred solution
Apology